Life as it ain't

"I'm not really from outer space. I'm just mentally divergent."

Jagte Raho (Stay awake): The Thief Who Couldn’t Steal

Posted by Ronak M Soni on December 28, 2009

Jagte Raho posterBest Hindi movie that I’ve watched yet. Hands down. Also seems to be one of my favourite all-language, but can’t say for sure because I only watched it today. What Fakir Mohan Senapati would have written if he was into screenwriting. The movie can be said to be about depravity in all its forms, from miscommunication to evil. It’s more than merely good because of the acting of the great Raj Kapoor, who acts as a naive farm boy who’s just come to the city. His face keeps the tone of the movie to sadness rather than anger.

Raj Kapoor's face

The Face; not the best moment, but I couldn't find anything better

RK’s only produced this film, but I feel certain it was his idea, because of similar thematic and stylistic elements to his Awaara (Vagabond), which was, in my opinion, good (especially in terms of acting and the form of cutting between shots) but unable to properly fill up its time. The new director duo seems to be better at editing than he is. Around half an hour shorter, and has around two minutes of boring time. Only four songs, and all thematically significant.

Story: RK needs water, sneaks into a building, is mistaken for a thief, and keeps on running all night. Some really brutal imagery, and not only by Bollywood standards. During the first part of a three-part climax, I thought I knew how it was going to end, and thought I knew how it was going to end, and thought it would be a good ending. This was one of those rare movies that surpassed that, and how!

I could go on for a while, but my left hand is broken and my right hand is starting to hurt. I’ll probably write more in a couple of weeks, when my hand’s fine. I just had to write something right now.

6 Responses to “Jagte Raho (Stay awake): The Thief Who Couldn’t Steal”

  1. S M Rana said

    Nice review–short and sweet!

  2. S M Rana said

    I could probably do by watching this!

  3. S M Rana said

    How is your arm?

  4. It’s fine, bone’s broken but in its place. Just robbed of its use for a couple of weeks. Thanks for asking.

  5. How did you break your arm?

  6. Tripped off the foot of a bed and fell with my arm where Superman generally keeps it when he’s flying downwards.

Leave a Reply

 
